Drawing Creates Memory

SolaceSailing_SB2

Sometimes I want to impress you … sometimes I just want to browse through my pages and remember. (And I think it’s important to remind you and me that not all sketchbook pages are beautiful.)

“Drawing creates memory” is a lesson I constantly fall back on, because it’s true. For example, I remember, as I drew the new pole going up, that’s when it occurred to me to use my sketchbook as a book of days – in the medieval sense. I challenged myself: try for a drawing a day, something out of the day, anything. Can you do it for a year?

I have been doing it for nearly 3 years, tho I don’t make it to the page every day any more. But the spirit continues. Hey, I think I’ll go draw now!

4 thoughts on “Drawing Creates Memory

Leave a Reply

