Fledging Swallows

Fledging-Swallows_SB6

I’m thinking this might be my favorite week of the summer (and we’ve had some good ones!). Our last day of a camping trip with Sue & Roger brought us to the top of Neahkanie Mountain on the coast, and then safely home, weary, dirty, and pleased.

A few days later a never-before on our river: a toy sailboat came drifting by heading upstream with the tide. It was close enough to rescue, so we did. I’ve left it out for several days on the dock, in case someone comes looking for it. But I hope not, for I’d like to keep it. It’s a gem.

But the best … is this story of the swallows. Oh. My. Gosh. I’ve been outside all morning, watching and drawing and cheering them on, for today is the day they fledge. Or at least two of them. What a caution.

Perhaps I’ll remember to keep you posted on their progress.

3 thoughts on “Fledging Swallows

Leave a Reply

