Osprey Talons

OspreyTalons

I haven’t been drawing in awhile and I wonder what’s up with that. So I’ve headed myself back into my sketchbook stack, just to think about pages. This one gives me something to think about.

On the left, draw while you eat, always fun. Later, a visit with Max, my grand-nephew.
(No, it doesn’t look like him.) But I often don’t “complete” a drawing, and these soft pencil sketches that float around in my pages … feel good to me.

On the right, an amazing experience on our river of finding a dead osprey on the road.
(It turned out it was killed by an eagle.) Before the wildlife center came to collect him,
I took the opportunity to draw. Can you see that I have patched the page where I just didn’t get it right the first time? Another little sketchbook trick.

It’s not easy for you to turn the page to read, so I’m going to transcribe that sideways text, because it matters: “June 10 ¶ Trying to catch up w/ your own sketchbook is like trying to catch up w/ your life … it can’t be done. Well, ok, then, in medias res, it is: A moth has been outside our blue kitchen door all day. I am exploring how to draw it. The beauty of it is in the shadowy grays and blue-grays of its very white body. ¶ Last night, a dead osprey on our road. Greg brought him down and today we examined him. His blue-gray talons are a wonder. Now, wildlife center is coming to collect him. ¶ Astoria’s friend, Carolyn Dunn, died Thursday.”

If you follow the arrows, you are able to finish the text.

2 thoughts on “Osprey Talons

Leave a Reply

